The Overlooked Violas

I was recently reminded how violist get overlooked, especially beginning violists. A friend emailed and asked if I knew of any hymn arrangements for a beginning violist, and I discovered there aren’t very many collections available. I actually had several hymns that I already had arranged, but hadn’t published or made available. This summer I’m working on making those available over at www.sheetmusicplus.com. I thought I would share this one that I’m working on this week.

It’s the old hymn tune ARISE and is commonly found set to the poem “Come Ye Sinners.” This is a favorite with my students who love minor keys. The arrangement is set in the key of E minor, but the chorus moves into G major as the lyrics begin to lookup and find hope and consolation.

I will arise and go to Jesus
He will embrace me in his arms
In the arms of my dear Savior
Oh there are ten thousand charms.

I originally arranged these for the beginning string ensemble at our church in Virginia. The melody part was the easiest and then each instrument had an ensemble part. The arrangements are set as flexible arrangements for beginning string players. Attached you will find the piano accompaniment, the melody part for the viola. If you happen to be so lucky as to have 2 violists, I’ve attached the ensemble part so that it can be used as a duet as well.

Screenshot 2017-07-12 10.45.18

Come Ye Sinners viola solo with piano

Screenshot 2017-07-12 10.45.38

Come ye sinners – Viola Ensemble Part

Leave a Reply

